PDA

View Full Version : Updating multiple worksheets at once; four source, three target

Silver Fox
11-02-2006, 03:09 AM
Dear all,

Please see the file attached (there are the same columns on all sheets, apart from on "BLANK"). The "Sort" sheets 1-4 contain rows that appear at various places on the three "Raw data" sheets. The "Sort" sheets are mutually exclusive; there is no repetition of data among them.

When I make an entry into the "ACTION" or "REASON" columns on any of the "Sort" sheets, I want that entry to be replicated on all relevant rows throughout the "Raw data" sheets. Matching of the rows is to be via Criteria 1 and 2.

I would preferably like the replication to be as I make the entries (is this possible), but could also hit an update button periodically.

I am a very much a beginner in these matters. What is the best approach here - to group the sheets, VLOOKUP, pivot tables, etc? How straightforward will this macro be? Has anyone any magic routines in their libraries to hand?

Thanks in advance for any help that can be offered.

Silver Fox
11-02-2006, 06:18 AM
Sorry, the title should read: "... three target"

I am currently looking into writing a private sub for each of the "Source" worksheets. This would activate when a change was made to that sheet's ACTION and/or REASON columns, group that sheet with the three "Raw data" ones and make the changes to the relevant cells (assuming this is possible). Or the macro could just loop through the rows of the three "Raw data" sheets and copy IF.

Does this sound like the way forward or am I barking up the wrong tree? Or is my data structured badly in the workbook from the outset?

Any inspiration would be very gratefully received. Many thanks again.

mdmackillop
11-02-2006, 03:10 PM
Or the macro could just loop through the rows of the three "Raw data" sheets

Correct approach but use Find rather than loop which needs to check each cell. It's a lot quicker.

Worksheet code

Option Explicit