PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Start numbering over with alpha

Zack Barresse
11-13-2006, 04:00 PM
Okay, I'm having trouble with some VBA, which I'm not good with Word VBA at all. This is in 2007 B2TR, although it should be the same for 2003; I don't have 2003 on this machine to test with.

What I'm trying to do is apply a letter outlining to some selected text. I want this to be based on my style "MyAlpha" and each time it should restart at "A". I can get a numeric outline to start at 1. I've looked at the help files but it's no help. I think it's with the ListLevels, but I can't find a list of their constants. Any help would be appreciated. Here is my code:

Sub AddNewAlpha()
Selection.Style = ActiveDocument.Styles("MyAlpha")
Selection.Paragraphs(1).SelectNumber
With ListGalleries(wdNumberGallery).ListTemplates(7)
.ListLevels(1).ResetOnHigher = 0
.ListLevels(1).StartAt = 1
.ListLevels(1).LinkedStyle = "MyAlpha"
End With
ListGalleries(wdNumberGallery).ListTemplates(7).Name = ""
Selection.Range.ListFormat.ApplyListTemplateWithLevel ListTemplate:= _
ListGalleries(wdNumberGallery).ListTemplates(1), ContinuePreviousList:= _
False, ApplyTo:=wdListApplyToWholeList, DefaultListBehavior:= _
wdWord10ListBehavior
End Sub

Don't know what's needed or not. Also, will this work if there is already an outlining applied to the selection? Thanks. :)

Zack Barresse
11-16-2006, 02:01 PM
:bump:

mdmackillop
11-16-2006, 02:54 PM
Still :banghead:
I looked for a long time for a method to restart index lettering from A on each new page, and recall coming up with a crude workaround. It always seemed a big ommission from a word processing programme not to have the ability to handle letters!

Ken Puls
11-16-2006, 03:09 PM
Guys, I'm no Wordie, but you can do this manually, right? Or maybe I'm missing the point... dunno...

If I reformat my bullets to A, B C... through in some text, go to a new page, I can set my list to restart numbering there...