PDA

View Full Version : Solved: A Loop?

Carina33
12-10-2006, 10:52 AM
Hi,

If someone could help me with this problem I would really appreciate it.

I have a seperate area for input by the user. This is basically two cells in which I want the user to be prompted to input two numbers (non-negative). Once the user has done this I want the two numbers to be moved to another location, a table, but the numbers need to be placed in two empty cells. I.e the first time the user inputs two numbers the macro should move them to the first row of the table, the second time the user inputs two numbers they should be copied to the second row of the table etc. Also, once the two numbers for the input area have been validated (non-negative etc) and they have been stored in the correct location in the table, they should be deleted from the input area and the user should be prompted to enter two new numbers.

I have no idea what code to use for this, I am new to vba.

Not sure I am being too clear on what it required, please let me know if I need to describe the problem in more detail.

Many many thanks in advance

Carina

mdmackillop
12-10-2006, 11:07 AM
Hi Carina,
Welcome to VBAX
Here's a simple example. If your source and target are not adjoining as shown, let us have the addresses and we can adjust the code to suit
Regards
MD

Option Explicit
Sub CopyData()
Dim Source As Range
Dim Tgt As Range
Set Source = Range("A2:B2")
Set Tgt = Cells(Rows.Count, 5).End(xlUp).Offset(1)
Source.Copy Tgt
Source.ClearContents
End Sub

Norie
12-10-2006, 11:10 AM
Carina

I don't see any need for a loop.

But it would help if there was more information.

Where will the numbers be input and where will they go?

Carina33
12-10-2006, 01:40 PM
Hi MD, thanks so much for the reply.

My target data is in cells A9 and B9 i.e below the source data. I guess I should be able to figure out how to adjust the code but it might take me another 100 years or so... so grateful if you could advice.

Many thanks