PDA

View Full Version : Excel data format query

ljf
12-28-2006, 04:21 PM
Hi all,

I am new to VBA and have tried to do this via Excel but alas it needs expert help. I have data in a single column as per the text below and I need to place each field in a seperate column. The main problem is that some data has two fields on the one line. Can someone point me in the right direction? I assume that it could search on the colon as this is present in each field but how I do that and move the data to respective columns is beyond me.

Thanks,

:banghead: ljf.

Name: Mr First_Name Last_Name
Level: Job(Type<->Type)
Phone (BH): 01 2345 6789 Phone (AH): 01 9876 5432
Fax (BH): 01 2345 6789 Fax (AH): 01 9876 5432
Mobile (BH): 0123456789 Mobile (AH): 0987654321
Email (Work): email address
Email (Home): email address
WebPage website url
Address: 3 My Street
SUBURB STATE 1234
Work Areas (Preferred): Any Area

Name: Mr First_Name Last_Name
Level: Job(Type<->Type)
Phone (BH): 01 2345 6789 Phone (AH): 01 9876 5432
Fax (BH): 01 2345 6789 Fax (AH): 01 9876 5432
Mobile (BH): 0123456789 Mobile (AH): 0987654321
Email (Work): email address
Email (Home): email address
WebPage website url
Address: 3 My Street
SUBURB STATE 1234
Work Areas (Preferred): Any Area

XLGibbs
12-28-2006, 04:49 PM
So you have this data in one column of excel? or is in a text file of some kind?

And do you want each topic..to become a column name (column for Name, column for Level) etc...and to move the respective data into those columns?

ljf
12-28-2006, 04:58 PM
You are correct.