PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Add Unbound Record to Table Using Event Procedure

feathers212
01-03-2007, 12:50 PM
I am very new to modules within MS Access, so please be patient! I am using Access 97.

I have a form that I want to use to create records of material receipts. There are three input boxes:

ReceiptDate ? a textbox with current date as default
ReceiptMaterial ? a combobox that retrieves its dropdown values from a master materials sheet
Quantity ? a textboxNone of the inputs are bounded to any tables, etc. The user input all values and then proceeds to click the ?Submit Report? button. When the button is clicked, the transaction is supposed to be fed into the ?Material Transactions? table as a new record.

The button has the following Event Procedure:

Private Sub Submit_Receipt_Click(ReceiptMaterial As String, ReceiptDate As Date, ReceiptQuantity As Integer)
On Error GoTo Err_Submit_Receipt_Click

Dim db As Database
Dim rs As Recordset

Set db = CurrentDb
Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("Material Transactions")

With rs
.AddNew
.Fields("Material Name") = ReceiptMaterial
.Fields("Date") = ReceiptDate
.Fields("Transaction") = "Receipt"
.Fields("Quantity") = ReceiptQuantity
.Update
.Close
End With

Exit_Submit_Receipt_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Submit_Receipt_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Submit_Receipt_Click

End Sub

When I hit the button, I get the following error message:

The expression On Click you entered as the even property setting produced the following error: Event procedure declaration does not match description of even having the same name.
*The expression may not result in the name of a macro, the name of a user-defined function, or [Event Procedure].
*There may have been an error evaluating the function, event, or macro.