PDA

View Full Version : Create Text Boxes then Protect the contents

DaveUK
01-08-2007, 03:21 PM
Please could someone advise me of the code to create 3 text boxes and in TextBox 1 - The word "Title"
TextBox 2 - The word "Department"
TextBox 3 - The word "Absent"

I then want to protect TextBox 3 to prevent anyone deleting the contents.

I am new to Word VBA but have a fair knowledge of Excel VBA.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

fumei
01-08-2007, 04:36 PM
You want to create these dynamically, by code and only want to protect the third one? This seems a little odd. Can you explain this more?

DaveUK
01-08-2007, 07:04 PM
Is it possible to create them dynamically?

I couldn't find a reference for the TextBox (name etc) to code anything to relate to any TextBoxes. in order to produce code to protect it.

As i said i am familiar with Excel VBA but not word - as the object model is different (obviously i know) i am struggling to do this.

How could i refer to a TextBox and protect it?

Thanks for replying

fumei
01-08-2007, 11:51 PM
Is it possible to create them dynamically?

Uh, you wrote:
advise me of the code to create 3 text boxes"code to create" means, at least to me, code TO create, ie. dynamically. You are using code to create them. And yes, you can create them by code.

You can not refer to, and protect, a single textbox. That is, a formfield textbox. You could put the text formfield in its own Section by using a Continuous Section break. Then protect just that Section.

Formfields are protected for forms by reference to tghe Section they are in. Protection protects Sections.

So say Textbox 1, and Textbox 2, are in Section 1, with Textbox 3 in Section 2 - where Section 1 is separated by a Continuous Section break. If Section 2 is protected for forms, then only Textbox 3 will function protected.

But protection for forms does NOT mean the user can not change it. Text formfields in protected sections ARE available for change.

This is what protection does: