PDA

View Full Version : Settings?

Djblois
01-12-2007, 07:26 AM
Is it possible to create a Settings page for addin's. I have different users using my add-in and some might want Cases (a checkbox) to be active by default. While others might prefer Amt (also a checkbox) to be active by default. Is it possible I can create a settings form where people can set their defaults, and the add-in would save it. I was thinking about programatically adding and removing code. However, the add-in would not save it. Is this possible?

Daniel

CBrine
01-12-2007, 07:39 AM
Djblois,
I use GetSetting and SaveSetting to write and extract addin settings from the registry of the local system.
You might want to think about using that. I find it's much better then a .ini file.

HTH
Cal

Djblois
01-12-2007, 07:59 AM
Ok can you explain more because I am new to writitng code. I am still just a beginner!

mdmackillop
01-12-2007, 08:02 AM
Hi Daniel,
Are these settings on a userform or spreadsheet items?

Bob Phillips
01-12-2007, 08:14 AM
Function SaveInfo(UserId)
SaveSetting appname:="MyApp", _
section:=UserId, _
key:="ActiveCB", _
setting:="Cases"
End Function

Function GetInfo(UserId)
GetInfo = GetSetting(appname:="MyApp", _
key:="ActiveCB", _
Default:="Cases")
End Function

Bob Phillips
01-12-2007, 08:18 AM
This is probably a better example

Function SaveInfo(UserId, thiskey, thisVal)
SaveSetting appname:="MyApp", _
key:=thiskey, _
setting:=thisVal
End Function

Function GetInfo(UserId, thiskey, defaultVal)
GetInfo = GetSetting(appname:="MyApp", _
key:=thiskey, _
default:=defaultVal)
End Function

Sub DemoRegistry()
Call SaveInfo("Bob", "ActiveCB", "Cases")

MsgBox GetInfo("Bob", "ActiveCB", "Cases")
End Sub

Djblois
01-12-2007, 09:30 AM
I haven't set it up yet. They would be in userforms. I have almost a seperate program built into excel for my users. I am trying to make it as user friendly as possible.

CBrine
01-12-2007, 09:59 AM
Djblois,
I use this on a my addin user form.

To load....