PDA

View Full Version : Constant



bopo
01-13-2007, 03:56 PM
Hi

Basically, I want to store a value that will never change using a constant, how do I do this?

Tommy
01-13-2007, 03:59 PM
In a Module or bas file:
Public Const ShtLyr = "SHEETING"

The value of ShtLyr will contain "SHEETING" throughout the program.
:)

HTH

Ken Puls
01-14-2007, 12:41 PM
Just for reference, if you can, I'd suggest declaring it as Private, instead of Public. This does mean that it would be available to that project only, though, so if you need to be able to call it from across modules, leave it as public.

Bob Phillips
01-14-2007, 02:35 PM
Just for reference, if you can, I'd suggest declaring it as Private, instead of Public. This does mean that it would be available to that project only ...

That module only!

Ken Puls
01-14-2007, 04:37 PM
Doh! :doh:

That's what I meant. Thanks for the correction. I still stand by the last half though..


so if you need to be able to call it from across modules, leave it as public.