PDA

View Full Version : Install 2007 and keep 2003?

Zack Barresse
01-27-2007, 10:14 AM
So I have had Excel 2000 through 2003 installed simultaneously before. I had to revert to Office 2003 for other reasons with my OS, but I was wanting to have both 2003 and 2007 Office. I was curious if anybody had ever done that? I can keep it separate (and probably will) but was just curious. :)

Bob Phillips
01-27-2007, 10:23 AM
I have both installed on this laptop Zack, and I haven't noticed any particular problems with either. I haven't been able to get personal.xlsb working, and I do get a problem with code librarian, every so often it just starts erroring and is only cured by shutting both down and starting again.

Bob Phillips
01-27-2007, 10:24 AM
Meant to also say that although I do have both, I think VM is probably the way to go, and will probably do so before long.

Zack Barresse
01-27-2007, 10:44 AM
Hmm, I've never used that before. Anything special to note before I start doing some research on it? Any pitfalls? Thanks Bob! :)

Zack Barresse
01-27-2007, 11:58 AM
Also, is there any issues with migration of Outlook accounts/emails (PST file)?

Edit: Scratch that! I realized that Office would only allow one Outlook to be installed at a time and won't run dual versions. So nevermind! LOL!

Ken Puls
01-27-2007, 02:08 PM
Personally, I go the VM route. I like VMWare better than MS's Virtual PC, but VPC is free.

I blogged about virtualization a while ago. You may want to have a read of that here (http://www.excelguru.ca/blog/2006/11/20/virtualization/). If you do decide to go the MS VPC route, make sure you read the article I linked to. It is essential info.

I will say that VPC isn't bad, but I'm still considering buying a license for VMWare Workstation anyway. The snapshot feature there is, quite simply, eons ahead of VPC's differencing disk strategy.

Brandtrock
01-27-2007, 03:44 PM