PDA

View Full Version : Automate chart series colors in PPT

jmartell
10-17-2004, 10:08 AM
I have searched for days to try to find information on how to attach a color to a series.

For example... I have a chart linked from Excel to PPT and I want my charts to alway use Red for "Tomato",Yellow for "Banana" etc. The series will change based on their rank in current sales. How do I alway keep the colors attached to the series no matter where it ranks?

Secondly,
Is there a way to automate text in PPT text boxes that read from Excel? I update the %change of sales and would like to use a text box rather than a chart title but want it to link to PPT based on the cell value in Excel.

Thanks for any help.

PS, I am a beginner so please go easy on the tech language! Thanks much.

J9

Zack Barresse
10-27-2004, 11:47 PM
Hello J,

As far as the chart in PPT, I'm assuming (correct me where I'm wrong) that you inserted an Object -> Microsoft Excel Chart -> From File -> Linked. If this is the case, follow these steps:

Within the Linked Excel file*, if Chart Title exists, proceed to step 4
1) Right click the chart, select Chart Options...
2) In the Chart Title, type any data (e.g. 'Hi', 'etc', 'blah')
3) Press Ok
4) Select the Chart Title (if not selected already)
5) Click in the formula bar
6) Type ='Sheet1!$A$2 or your equivelant linked cell
7) Press Enter

* You can also right click your Object and select Linked Worksheet Object -> Open/Edit (whichever works for you).
It is imperative that you follow the steps exactly, click by click.