PDA

View Full Version : Update Registry key via VBA/excel to chnage default E-mail to Lotus Notes

Misty Shay
02-16-2007, 10:06 AM
Hey there,

I'm very new to VBA however, have found great stuff on this site and have been able to create a button to automatically send my excel data via e-mail. However this feature will only works if the user has their default e-mail in Internet explorer set to "Louts Notes" as that's what our Company uses. Therefore, I'd like to create a module in VBA that will automatically set the default to Lotus Notes when they open my workbook. I have the run.application command to start on open, but need help with the registry re-set. Has anyone done this before? I'd appreciate any help you could offer.

lucas
02-16-2007, 10:14 AM
There are several entries in the knowledgbase that deal with emailing workbooks, worksheets, etc. using other than outlook or default program. I don't think it's necessary to change their default program to do this.

http://vbaexpress.com/kb/default.php?action=search

enter email in the keywords box and select Excel from the applications list and hit search.

Brandtrock
02-16-2007, 06:04 PM
Amend registry KB (http://vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=208)

Using MAPI to e-mail KB (http://vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=311)

Here's a couple of items to look over.

Regards,

Misty Shay
02-19-2007, 10:53 AM
When I run my file without changing the registry I get "no profiles have been created errors", once I manually change it on my workstation, It works. So I know that the Registry key is a problem. However, you bring up a good point, maybe I'm using an e-mail approach that references the default e-mail within the registry and there's another approach that may not require it. Here's the code I'm using, please advise if you (or anyone) knows of a better approach. . .

Sub Send1Sheet_ActiveWorkbook()
'Create a new Workbook Containing 1 Sheet (left most) _
and sends as attachment.

ThisWorkbook.Sheets(1).Copy