PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Create folders on network drive

brandonb8
02-21-2007, 09:12 AM
Hello. I'm very new to macros and excel language in general. I've been trying to create a macro for a week now and am having no luck. It seems extremely complicated for me, but I initially wanted to refuse asking for help, instead trying to learn through research. I've found some good information, but am having trouble putting it all together. Here is my situation.

I need to create a macro for saving files to a mapped network drive. I work for the government inspecting asphalt and we need a way to save our core data. The drive we will use is J:\Asphalt Core Data. I made a macro that will save the file to a project subfolder and mix subfolder. For instance J:\Asphalt Core Data\J6I1541\SP125. The J6I1541 AND SP125 info are based on cell values where the inspector can put in the project and mix values. These cells are B6 AND B8. The real kicker is I want the macro to create these folders if they dont exist. From what I read I need to use MkDirMulti, but am having trouble with the language. I've got one macro to work called "transferJ". This macro will save the file, but if the folders dont exist I get an error message. Is there an easier way to do this. Any help would be appreciated.

lucas
02-21-2007, 09:23 AM
I have changed the title of your thread to reflect the question. Helps with searches and will come closer to getting you the kind of help you need. Help!!!! doesn't tell us much.

MkDir ActiveWorkbook.Path & MyDir1

mvidas
02-21-2007, 11:09 AM
Brandon,

I made a function that checks if a directory exists, and if not then it creates it and returns the directory string as well. I'm not sure exactly how you're wanting to use it, but heres an example using your two cells:Sub brandonb8()
ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs CheckMakeUNCPath("J:\Asphalt Core Data\J6I1541\" & _
Range("B6").Text) & "filename.xls"
Range("B8").Text) & "filename.xls"
End Sub