PDA

View Full Version : Another Related Question/Issue (combining workbooks into Master file)

mcsmith1974
03-03-2007, 08:09 AM
This has been an oustanding thread.:bow:

I am just learning VBA this morning as I am up against a similar challenge...pulling in multiple workbooks into on workbook. There is a piece I am trying to get at, but can't seem to figure out. Any help is really appreciated.
~
1. I want to pull in multiple workbooks (files) stored in same directory.

2. I want to have a few sheets in my 'Master Workbook File build charts and tables from the multiple workbooks.

3. I want the other workbooks to automatically update into the 'Master Workbook File' when I open the 'Master Workbook File'.

4. When I save the 'Master Workbook File', it saves all the imported worksheets ( :yes ); however, if I want to update the file again later that day with new entered data in the individual workbooks, I have to rerun the Macro (goto Tools, etc..run Macro). This duplicates all the workbooks.

Basically, I want the imported workbooks to update automatically and copy over the previous "like" workbooks that were there at last saved point.

I have used the following code from above inporting my test case:
~~~
Sub CombineFiles()

Dim Path As String
Dim FileName As String
Dim Wkb As Workbook
Dim WS As Worksheet
Dim Ch As Chart

ToggleStuff False

Path = "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents"

With Application.FileSearch
.NewSearch
.LookIn = Path
.LastModified = msoLastModifiedAnyTime
.FileName = "LinkBook.xls"
If .Execute(msoSortByFileName, msoSortOrderDescending, True) > 0 Then
Workbooks.Open .FoundFiles(1), xlWindows

End If
End With
Set Wkb = ActiveWorkbook
For Each WS In Wkb.Worksheets
WS.Copy After:=ThisWorkbook.Sheets(ThisWorkbook.Sheets.Count)
Next WS
For Each Ch In Wkb.Charts
Ch.Copy After:=ThisWorkbook.Sheets(ThisWorkbook.Sheets.Count)
Next Ch

Wkb.Close False

ToggleStuff True
End Sub

Sub ToggleStuff(ByVal x As Boolean)

With Application