PDA

View Full Version : re: Updating Junction Tables

BkPlanner
03-26-2007, 01:33 PM
First, I will appologize if this seems like a basic question, but I'm relatively new to access (but not VBA programming), and just cant seem to get this to work the way I want to.

So here goes..

I am trying to build a database to keep track of "Projects" however, each project may have multiple "Project Managers" and (of course) each "Project Manager" will be working on multiple projects. In addition, each "Project" may have multiple "Applicant"s (the person or entity initiating a project) and each "Applicant" may have initiated multiple Projects.

This is really just the beginning because What I need to do is come up with a way of allowing "Project Managers" with a way of entering "Comments" for each project they are working on to keep track of actions they have taken to move each "Project" towards particular milestones... but i digress.

The project I am having is that I have to set up Many-to-Many relationships for the Project to Project Manager and Project to Applicant relationships. I did this by using junction tables which contain the primary keys of the two parent tables. Since it will work the same for both relationships, lets just stick to the Project and Project Manager relationship

I have three tables:

1. Project: ProjectID, Project Name
2. Project-Manager: ProjectID, ManagerID
3. Manager: ManagerID, ManagerFirst, ManagerLast, ManagerPhone, etc...

I want to use a form to allow people to add or update projects, but cant seem to get the junction table in the middle to update automatically. Since I find the user interface for access to be pretty confusing, I am willing to juyst bypass it and use VB to do the updating. Hopefully,I'm making sense. But any help would be much apprecaited.

thanks

eric

JimmyTheHand
03-27-2007, 03:52 AM
Hi Eric :hi: