View Full Version : Solved: Delete Rows with same information
parttime_guy
03-26-2007, 07:41 PM
Duplicate Rows should be deleted as they duplicates and match all the criterias in the columns.
I have tried Advanced Filter with Unique Records the file is to big it hangs sometimes.
Duplicate Rows should be deleted as they duplicates and match all the criterias in the columns.
I have tried Advanced Filter with Unique Records the file is to big it hangs sometimes.
Hi,
Try the attachment. Click on Column A and then run the macro. Is this what you are after?
Biz
johnske
03-26-2007, 11:00 PM
Try...
Option Explicit
'
Sub DeleteDuplicateRows()
'
Dim Cell As Range, RowsToDelete As String
'
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
With Sheet1 '< put your sheet name here
On Error Resume Next
.ShowAllData
.UsedRange.AdvancedFilter Action:=xlFilterInPlace, unique:=True
'change "A" below if there is no column A - a heading is assumed
For Each Cell In .Range("A2", .Range("A" & .UsedRange.Rows.Count + 1))
If Cell.EntireRow.Hidden Then
RowsToDelete = RowsToDelete & Cell.Row & ":" & Cell.Row & ","
End If
Next
.Range(Left(RowsToDelete, Len(RowsToDelete) - 1)).Delete
.ShowAllData
End With
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
'
End Sub
parttime_guy
03-27-2007, 07:16 PM
Yo! Biz & Guru
I have checked both the codes,
Biz code:
Works fine with the small file that I have posted.
Guru code:
The macro filters all the duplicates & reverts back to to its original self - does not delete the duplicates?
I will get back shortly after checking Biz code on my file which has about 20 columns & more than 30,000 rows (with duplicates).
Thx-n-BR
:friends:
johnske
03-27-2007, 08:22 PM
...The macro filters all the duplicates & reverts back to to its original self - does not delete the duplicates?...I find that very strange, as it deletes all the duplicate rows on my machine. What office version are you using?
mdmackillop
03-28-2007, 10:36 AM
Hi John,
I suspect with 30k rows, the range is too complex.
PartTimeGuy,
Give this (http://members.iinet.net.au/~brettdj/) a try, created by one of our members. I use it regularly
parttime_guy
03-28-2007, 07:58 PM
Yo! :super: Everybody
mdmackillop u have just made my day, this is just what I needed. I thing this file or link should be in the kb - it just does everything u need to do with duplicates.
Thx for all ur help
Best regards
:clap2:
nserrano
07-16-2007, 08:10 AM
I have a list of employees that have their sign-in time stamped. I want to be able to delete the duplicate timestamps and paste the results to their individual worksheets. I will be doing this everyweek so each copied range will need to start on the next available row in their worksheet. Any idea how to ? Thanks in advanced.
lucas
07-16-2007, 08:45 AM
nserrano,
This seems to be more than just a followup question for this thread so I would suggest that you start a new thread. It would help if you would post an example with some detail of what you are trying to do.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.