PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Number of pages in section

crowfan
05-17-2007, 11:53 AM
Hello,

I am new to VBA coding and even newer to these forums. :hi:

I have a Word document (Word 2003) with multiple sections. Each section is multiple pages.

What I would like to do is to write a macro that would do the following. I would like it to work when run from anywhere in that section.

1. move the cursor to the end of the section
2. count the number of pages in the section
3. If the number of pages is even, add a page; if it is odd, do not add a page.
4. add a section break (odd page)

Currently I have only step 4 working, and I have to manually place the cursor at the end of the section before I run it.

Bit I can't get 1-3 to work. My main problem is that I cannot find any function that will count the pages in the section. I feel like it is possible, because that information is displayed in the lower-left corner of the Word window. All I can find is a page count for the entire document.

What can I do?

Thanks!

mdmackillop
05-17-2007, 03:42 PM
Hi Crowfan,
Welcome to VBAX
This needs a bit more work, but no more time just now

Option Explicit
Sub Breaks()
Dim Sect As Long
Dim Pgs As Long
Dim Rng As Range
With ActiveDocument
'Get the number opf the current section
Sect = Selection.Information(wdActiveEndSectionNumber)
'Get pages from start to end of current and previous sections. Subtract for page count.
Pgs = .Sections(Sect).Range.Information(3) - .Sections(Sect - 1).Range.Information(3)
MsgBox Pgs
'If pages/2 0 then even number so do process
If Pgs Mod 2 = 0 Then
'With the section
Set Rng = .Sections(Sect).Range
'Go to the end of the section
Rng.Collapse (wdCollapseEnd)
'Insert selection point
Rng.Select
With Selection
' Go up one line
.MoveUp Unit:=wdLine, Count:=1
'Delete Pilcrow and Section Break
.Delete Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=2
'Insert page break to make odd number of pages in the section
.InsertBreak Type:=wdPageBreak
'Insert OddPage section break