PDA

View Full Version : Solved: What is wrong with this thing??

ctengelen
05-22-2007, 11:02 AM
Hi folks,

I am VERY new in VBA for Excel and I have a problem with the attached. It is a duty sheet that selects the shifts and places them from one sheet (shifts) into another sheet (duty sheet). Many folks had their hands into this project and now it has landed in my lap to see if I can get it going.

It works fine until the number 182 (2007 July 01) and than does what it wants - no rhyme or reason as far as I can see.

The VBA was created by an employee that is no longer with us. Can you help me??

Trudy:dunno

lucas
05-22-2007, 11:10 AM
It has something to do with the named range sqd1_shifts
what should that named range be?

ctengelen
05-22-2007, 11:26 AM
I have noted, since I deleted some rows (file was too big) it now went all hay wire. I have re-done the ranges, but that still does not seem to correct my problem. I will try to re-post the workbook.

Norie
05-22-2007, 11:36 AM
Have you considered ditching the original code?

That's what I would do.

I'd sit down, work out the purpose and ultimate goal and start form scratch.

Hard work maybe but it might be worthwhile.:)

ctengelen
05-22-2007, 11:48 AM
Hi Norie,

I really thought about re-doing the whole thing. I just baffles me that it works fine until a certain date (row) and then (even though we have the same ranges etc) it goes all to the toilet and picks up a different row or stalls altogether! Strange!?!?! For a VBA for Excel newbie VERY STRANGE!!! I had just hoped someone would know where the bug is sitting and laughing at me.

Trudy

Norie
05-22-2007, 12:00 PM
Trudy

I realise it might be quite daunting especially for a 'newbie' but it might be better to just start from scratch.

I've not really examined the code closely but it's pretty messy.

That causes a few problems.

The main one is, what is the code meant to actually do?

The first thing to do would be to get rid of stuff like this.