PDA

View Full Version : Password Help PLEEEASE !

Pete634
05-29-2007, 06:35 PM
Can anyone help me with this?

I've built a workbook with containing a number of userforms , which are accessed via a "Main Menu" userform which automatically loads on opening the workbook. A userform will always show on the screen, and a user can only get back to the main menu.

I've found some good code to disable the cancel button on the forms which I want to use to help achieve the above, but I will need to get back into my workbook at some point for further development. So, I put a commandbutton on the Main Menu titled "Developer" which, when pressed, will prompt for a password. Only when the correct password is entered will the Main Menu close, thereby allowing only me to access the workbook and the VBA code behind it.

Trouble is, I don't know how to code this last bit?

Any takers ?!

PS. I would post the workbook, but I'm still a VBA Newbie and you'll all laugh at my work (pages and pages of If statments!!!):blush

geekgirlau
05-29-2007, 07:06 PM
If "MyPassword" = InputBox("Enter the Developer password", "Password") Then
Unload Me
Else
MsgBox "That password is incorrect - go away!", vbExclamation, _
"Invalid Password"
End If

tccmdr
05-29-2007, 07:20 PM
Everyone has to start somewhere:clap:

I promise I won't laugh, and you never know, there are some great minds here that might help:yes

lucas
05-29-2007, 08:35 PM
You will probably need something like this too so they don't just close it using the X in the upper right hand corner of the form.
Private Sub UserForm_QueryClose(Cancel As Integer, CloseMode As Integer)
If CloseMode = 0 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "The X is disabled, please use the Close Command Button.", vbCritical
End If

End Sub

malik641
05-29-2007, 08:49 PM
Hi Pete634, and Welcome to VBAX! :hi:

In addition to geekgirlau's suggestion, you could probably place a boolean variable in the code to check if a developer opened the workbook. Like: