PDA

View Full Version : get cell address without the $'s

greymalkin
06-01-2007, 03:38 PM
Hello All,

I've been programming for a few years now but have never used Excel VBA until a couple days ago when I was asked to automate some processes.

I'm trying to create a string variable that contains the name of the cell (eg. A4, AB456, etc.) I will then call on it later to go back to that point
using Range(variableName).Select

I have found .Address, but when I call it instead of giving me A4 it gives me $A$4.

So I have 2 questions

1) Is there some other function I can call that will give me the address I'm wanting?
2) If not, is there a way I can manipulate the string so that I can remove the $'s? I have tried replace but I'm afraid I keep getting the syntax wrong.

thanks for your help!

johnske
06-01-2007, 04:00 PM
To remove the dollars use this syntax... Selection.Address(0, 0)

mdmackillop
06-01-2007, 04:27 PM
For more info, check the Address Property in VBA Help. Note that this is not installed by default.

greymalkin
06-01-2007, 07:31 PM
fantastic!

thanks for the quick replies.

this is exactly what I needed.

The only other thing I'm not sure of right now is making some sort of progress form..I was wanting to make a form that was shown as soon as the macro started with hidden labels that would appear at different points in the macro execution such as:

querying database...
updating spreadsheet with document types...
etc..

When I made a form and used the form1.Show command, it halted the macro operations, however...is there a property of the form that will let it show while the macro continues to run, updating it as I hit key points in the macro (by simply making label1.Visible=True, label2.Visible=True..etc)

thanks again!

johnske
06-01-2007, 08:34 PM
Do a search thru the KB with the search word "progress" for some examples :)

Bob Phillips
06-02-2007, 03:15 AM