PDA

View Full Version : Writing a macro in word to search footer for specific text

challengedvb
06-22-2007, 01:31 PM
Greetings,

I'm a newbie in writing vba code. My task is to write code/macro that would upon opening a document, prompt the user to view text in the document's footer and remove old text that doesn't belong.

Could someone help me with that?

Thanks in advance for you time!

lucas
06-22-2007, 03:39 PM
MsgBox "Change the footer!"
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.SeekView = wdSeekCurrentPageFooter

In the thisworkbook module in the workbook open procedure. See attached

challengedvb
06-25-2007, 07:15 AM
Thanks for posting. Is the code you sent for MS Excel or is it universal for all MS Office programs?

lucas
06-25-2007, 07:24 AM
I'm sorry...I don't do much in Word so I gave the wrong instructions. It should be

In the thisdocument module and the document open procedure:
Private Sub Document_Open()
MsgBox "Change the footer!"
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.SeekView = wdSeekCurrentPageFooter
End Sub

The file attached in post#2 is a Word documnent.....did you try it?

challengedvb
06-25-2007, 07:48 AM
Yes it works, but not exactly the way I need it to. I need Word to search for specific text in the footer and if the text is there, then I need the pop up box to appear. The way it's written now the pop up box will appear whenever a doc is opened.

lucas
06-25-2007, 07:51 AM
Sorry...I only had your post to go by......

My task is to write code/macro that would upon opening a document, prompt the user to view text in the document's footer and remove old text that doesn't belong

fumei
06-25-2007, 10:21 AM
You need to specify if you have multiple footers. Do you have DifferentFirstPage? DifferentOddEven?

Do you have multiple Sections? Each Section has its own footers. Are you only searching for text in Section 1? Other Sections?

In other words...WHAT (or rather WHICH) footer are you wanting to search?