PDA

View Full Version : Record data from a dynamically changing cell

itzadrian
06-23-2007, 06:16 PM
Hey everyone,

I am currently a student and have only been learning VBA for about 9 months now so please be patient with me. Thanks. So heres my problem:
I have a cell and the value is changing about every 1/8 to 1/2 of a second, and I need to record the data and the time of the change and store it another sheet so it looks like this:
A B
Time Value
example:
A B
10:01:01:00 5.5
10:01:01:10 6.0
10:01:01:40 7.2
10:01:02:25 4.8
10:01:02:30 3.1
10:01:02:33 3.4
10:01:02:39 3.9
10:01:02:42 3.5
10:01:02:44 4.4
10:01:03:09 5.9
The time of the changes is erratic and so is the values.

I have no idea really how to write the code. My idea was (very basically written):
if value of cell <> previous value of cell then
record change and time of change
I no its very basic idea, and not even code but I am completley stuff on how to code it.

thanks for any help.
Itzadrian

rbrhodes
06-23-2007, 08:08 PM
Hi,

Enter a value in Sheet1 A1. The Worksheet_Change event will post the value to Sheet 2 (average run time of 1.5/100ths of a second).

To see the code right click on the Sheet 1 tab and choose View Code.

There is also a one line sub in module 1 for the button.

Cheers,

dr

mdmackillop
06-24-2007, 03:20 AM
Hi DR,
You can skip the Copy/PasteSpecial by inserting the time directly.
.Range("A" & lastrow) = Now

Exactly the same methodology, but compress the code a bit
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Excel.Range)
Dim DestSheet As Worksheet
'A1 changed?
If Not Intersect(Target, Range("A1")) Is Nothing Then
'create object
Set DestSheet = Sheets("Sheet2")
With DestSheet.Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Offset(1)
.NumberFormat = ("h:mm:ss.00")
.Value = Now
.Offset(, 1) = Target
End With
'destroy object
Set DestSheet = Nothing
End If
End Sub

mdmackillop
06-24-2007, 04:44 AM
Hi DR,
I need to retract a bit.