PDA

View Full Version : Using Scripting.Dictionary with UDTs

nals14
06-27-2007, 12:19 PM
Hi,
I am pretty new to VBA. I have a problem. I posted a question about it and I got a lot of help. I really appreciate all the help.

I have another question now.

I have a class called eg. CBooks.
The members are id,
name,
author,
publisher.

I have a spread sheet which serves as a data entry form for this information.
The user can add new books, delete them from the list and modify them. So at the end of each operation I have to sort the list to maintain the list in order of book name or author name.

I have been doing some research and the dictionary object seems to fit my needs.
Only problem is I do not know if a dictionary can be used with a custom class.:dunno If it can how do you declare and initialze it. I could not find an example for it anywhere.

Could some please help me get started with some examples.:help

Really appreciate your help and time.

mvidas
06-27-2007, 01:06 PM
Hi Nals,

I think you'd probably be better off using a collection instead, but you'd know better which to use.

Using a dictionary:Option Explicit
Dim Dict As Dictionary 'set reference to Microsoft Scripting Runtime
'Dim Dict As Object 'to use late-binding (no reference)
Sub nals14exampleDictionary()
Dim aBook As CBooks

Set Dict = New Dictionary ' CreateObject("scripting.dictionary")

Set aBook = New CBooks
aBook.Name = "nals14 example"
aBook.Author = "mvidas"
aBook.Publisher = "vbaexpress.com"
Dict.Add aBook.Name, aBook '(Key, Item)

Set aBook = New CBooks
aBook.Name = "nals14 example number 2"
aBook.Author = "mvidas"
Dict.Add aBook.Name, aBook

'until you destroy the Dict variable or RemoveAll, it can now be used anywhere
End Sub

Using a collection:Option Explicit
Dim Coll As Collection
Sub nals14exampleDictionary()
Dim aBook As CBooks

Set Coll = New Collection

Set aBook = New CBooks
aBook.Name = "nals14 example"
aBook.Author = "mvidas"
Coll.Add aBook '(Item, [Key], [Before], [After])