PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] IF Statement

ragamuffin
07-04-2007, 02:15 PM
Hi,

I am creating a schedule for work (attached) in which I need to show all of the hours worked for the week in a single column. The shifts are not formated as time, but do have refrences to times that can be used in the clalculation. That may not make much sense, but you'll see when you open the attachment :) I think that I need an IF statement to do this calculation, but I am not sure how to accomplish this with multiple variables that can change from week to week. I would like to keep it to a formula, not a vba, if at all possible, as I am not good at vba at all and I will need to make several edits to the timesheet from week to week. Optimally, I would also like the code to be as such that I could simply copy the whole sheet into a new worksheet for the new week, change the dates and schedule, and then save (i.e. not have to redo any formulas). If anyone can help me out, I would be ever so thankful!!!

Thanks!

ragamuffin

mdmackillop
07-04-2007, 02:30 PM
This could be greatly simplified if you use 24 hour notation as in
08:00-16:00
and a formula such as

=TIMEVALUE(RIGHT($C26,5))-TIMEVALUE(LEFT($C26,5))
should suffice. Is this possible?
Regarding the new week, I would suggest a blank hidden worksheet. Some simple code can make a copy of this visible for use.

mdmackillop
07-04-2007, 02:53 PM
Here's the sheet with some partial formulae. I've used some named ranges (Data1, Data2 etc.), but these can be cell references if you prefer.

rbrhodes
07-04-2007, 03:30 PM
ragamuffin,

I would use:

=(COUNTIF(C7:I7,"Open")+COUNTIF(C7:I7,"Close"))*8 (for full time)

and *5 for part time

As for the new Schedule simply copy the whole sheet.

Cheers,

dr

ragamuffin
07-06-2007, 08:35 AM
mdmackillop and rbrhodes,