PDA

View Full Version : Seek help to highlight number.

apple
07-18-2007, 12:49 AM
Hi,

Please do show me the way to highlight 5 number in front and 5 number at the back. For example the number i want is 12345-ABC-67890.I want to highlight all the number that is 5 number in front, middle got ABC and at the back is 5 number.

Besides that i want highlight the sequence number which is start from 1 to 1.1, 1.1.1, 1.1.2 and so on. After that start loop 2 to 2.2.1,2.2.2, 2.2.3 and so on.

Below is the example:

1.1.0 12345-ABC-647891
1.1.2 67891-DEG-112345
1.1.3 78910-HIJ-123467

2.1.0 65478-KLM-645789
2.2.1 45678-OPQ-489453

I would like to highlight the number follow the sequence for number 1.1.0 to the end 1.1.3 that have 5 number in front, middle ABC and 5 number at the back. After that start loop 2.1.0 until end of 2.2.1
I am new to VBA. Can anyone help me with example? Thanks. Hope to hear any friend to help me soon.

Regards,
Apple

JimmyTheHand
07-18-2007, 01:51 AM
Hi,

So you want something like this?

1.1.0 12345-ABC-647891 --> 1.1.0 12345-ABC-647891

If not, then can you show me an example?

2nd question: You want this for all rows? Where are these rows, anyway?

Jimmy

apple
07-18-2007, 07:58 AM
Hi Jimmy,

Yes, you are right. I want 1.1.0 12345-ABC-647891, all the rows. This rows are from excel sheet. Hope to hear from you soon.

apple
07-18-2007, 08:13 PM
Hi Jimmy,

Any update for my request. Thanks

JimmyTheHand
07-18-2007, 11:51 PM
Hi,

try the macro below.

Sub HighLight()
Dim Rng As Range, c As Range
Dim L As Long, S As String
Set Rng = Range("A1", Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp))
For Each c In Rng.Cells
If c <> "" Then
S = c.Value
With c.Characters(1, InStr(S, "-") - 1).Font
.FontStyle = "Bold"
.ColorIndex = 3
End With
With c.Characters(InStrRev(S, "-") + 2).Font
.FontStyle = "Bold"
.ColorIndex = 3
End With
End If
Next
End Sub Please note the red bold line.