PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Copy Paste using macro involving 6 different workbooks

fwawergurl16
07-25-2007, 06:17 PM
Hi, im an intern with a media company, but im dealing with the IT side of things. Im asked to combined all the data from different Excel workbooks using macro into ONE workbook, but Im VERY new to VBA. :dunno

This is what I'm thinking that I need to do (after opening all workbooks involved using macro as well- able to do this part d):
1. select all info from non-active
2. copy all selected
3. find last line in active workbook
4. paste copied onto active workbook after the workbook's last line (last line +1)
5. save non-active & close saved workbook (active workbook remains opened)
6. loop process

Are there any VBA experts who would know how to get this done? Esp for Step 1,3,4, & 6? :help

Any help is MUCH appreciated. Thanks!

YellowLabPro
07-25-2007, 06:43 PM
Is this a one time thing?
How many workbooks, how many sheets per book?
Are all the books stored in the same directory?
Are all the sheets named something unique?

fwawergurl16
07-25-2007, 11:57 PM
Is this a one time thing?
How many workbooks, how many sheets per book?
Are all the books stored in the same directory?
Are all the sheets named something unique?
1. Yes, it's a one time thing (all 6 goes into 1 each time)
2. There're 6 workbooks each time. In each wb, only ONE sheet.
3. Yes, all books stored in same directory
4. Yes, all the sheets have unique names. But each month when the info tables are generated (from a software by Nielsen), it'll be saved in the same name, in the same folder, & will overwrite the old files, which won't be of use for the month after tht already :P
[e.g.: For January, .xls generated is called Magazine Spot for Grand Total, Cinema Spot for Grand Total,..etc. For February, .xls generated is also called Magazine Spot for Grand Total, Cinema Spot for Grand Total,..etc. Same name, but info inside different.]

I hope the answers helped. Thanks loads!!!