PDA

View Full Version : Word Document creation with different sections

vkhura
08-01-2007, 09:59 AM
Hi
I am currently using a product called System Architect and i need to generate a word document by writing a VBA macro by using information contained in the product.
I know how to get information from the product and simply write it to word document.
However, since i am new to office automation, i am looking for a sample macro which shows me how to browse through various section of the word document and put various subheaders, add tables , format font and write in content into sections and sub-sections.
The document will use a template containing some sections but we will be adding further sections and subsections using macro.

Would really appreciate if anyone can provide me with the same.

Thanks

fumei
08-01-2007, 10:29 AM
i am looking for a sample macro which shows me how to browse through various section of the word document and put various subheaders, add tables , format font and write in content into sections and sub-sections.1. There are no such things as sub-sections in Word.

2. There are no such things as sub-headers in Word.

3. What do you mean by "browse through various section of the word document". Browse????

As for putting in tables, formatting font, and writing content, try recording some macros. Then look at the code.

If you have actual specific questions please post them.

vkhura
08-02-2007, 02:39 AM
Hi Fumei
1) Technically there are no Sub-sections but logically they do, E.g.
Main Document Section (Heading 1)

Documnent Subsection (Heading 2)

2)- Yeah sub-headers again no such things you are absolutely right i was so much engrossed in my work that i wrote HEADER instead of HEADINGS :) but Heading 1 being parent Header 2 becomes subheader. I just needed to know how to put heading 1,2,3.
Sorry for the confusion