PDA

View Full Version : Solved: array help

abcd1234
08-14-2007, 01:06 AM
i have a form with text boxes that a user would have to enter information into. i thought of making this a multi-dimensional array but figured that it would be too complicated to search as i'm pretty new to vba and don't know how to do that much.so when the user enters certain information such a surname and first name i want them to be stored in seperate arrays but in the same position. so i guess what i'm asking is how to i combine all these different text boxes which i have different arrays for to store all the information for one person seperately but still together so if i search for it it will come up?

fionabolt
08-14-2007, 04:13 AM
It would be much better to use an array, and once you've got to grips with them you will find them invaluable....

First you would need to create the variable:

Option Explicit
Dim ClientName() as variant

Then in your code, you would need to allocate storage space for the array (I find it helps to think of a multi-dimensional array like rows and columns).
So for example, if you had 10 names, and you wanted to store just the surname and the first name then:

ReDim ClientName(10,2)

Then you could store the information from the textboxes into the array, so say your first text box was called "txtSurname1" and the next "txtFirstname1" then:

ClientName(1,1) = the value of txtSurname1
ClientName(1,2) = the value of txtFirstname1

and so on.....

abcd1234
08-14-2007, 10:16 PM
yeah that's what i'm doing now. sorry if i don't understand your message but how exactly then do i connect all those seperate arrays together?

fionabolt
08-15-2007, 12:15 AM
Now it's my turn not to understand. What do you mean by

connect all those seperate arrays together?
What is it you are trying to do with this information once you've stored it?

abcd1234
08-15-2007, 02:55 AM