PDA

View Full Version : Code working when stepping through but not completely when assigned to rollover

averilp
08-17-2007, 04:33 PM
Hi there,

I am new to Powerpoint VBA and I've probably gone about the completely the wrong way.

I've thrown together the code that should (in theory) hide named shapes, and I've assigned the various subs to run on mouse rollover of each image.

When I step through the code it runs as expected, but for some reason when I am in slideshow view, and rollover the image, the code doesn't work as expected.

Would someone mind having a look and telling me where I might be going wrong?

I do have further work to do on this so I might be back for more questions!

Thanks in advance,
Averil

averilp
08-17-2007, 09:05 PM
Hi all,

Just waned to advise that I found out what the problem was...

I should have been using:

ActivePresentation.SlideShowWindow.View.Slide.Shapes("nameofshape").Visible = True

Cheers,
Averil

John Wilson
08-17-2007, 10:53 PM
You should but here's a suggestion
first select each of the shapes in turm and run this to add an ID tag

Sub tagger()
On Error GoTo err:
ActiveWindow.Selection.ShapeRange.Tags.Add "include", "yesme"
Exit Sub
err:
MsgBox "error"
End Sub

Then activate this on mouseover

Sub mouseover(oshp As Shape)
Dim i As Integer
With ActivePresentation.SlideShowWindow.View.Slide
For i = 1 To .Shapes.Count
If .Shapes(i).Tags("include") = "yesme" Then .Shapes(i).Visible = True
oshp.Visible = False
Next i
End With
End Sub

averilp
08-18-2007, 12:05 AM
Thanks John, I will have a go at that :)

One other quick question probably really simple answer but I mustn't be searching correctly... How do I go to a slide that I have named???

While I am at it, I will ask for advise as to the next step...