PDA

View Full Version : Reading Variables in Word

Dohko8
08-27-2007, 04:09 AM
Hi

I'm new to writing macros in word and was wondering if the following is possible.

Suppose I have the following

Name: James State: Florida

How can I write a macro that will read and store James in variable x. and Florida in variable y?

Thanks

lucas
08-27-2007, 05:59 AM
simple example with a userform with one textbox:
Private Sub UserForm_Initialize()
Dim x As String
x = "James"
TextBox1.Value = x
End Sub

Dohko8
08-27-2007, 06:02 AM
But say I have a word document with this data and the Name:
will be the same but the James will change. Is there anyway to tell Word to store anything after Name:, in this case James but to stop before State?

I'm focusing on the selection.find property but cant get it to work/

Thanks

lucas
08-27-2007, 06:15 AM
http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11427

Dohko8
08-27-2007, 06:21 AM
Thanks, I'll check it out

Dohko8
08-27-2007, 07:39 AM
So i need to create a bookmark for this? Can't get it to work
Any other ideas?

fumei
08-27-2007, 09:45 AM
Can't get it to workThis means absolutely nothing. Zip.

Can't get WHAT to work?

Using a bookmark?
The code?

And if doesn't work...what DOES happen??

I'm new to writing macros in word and was wondering if the following is possible.

Suppose I have the following

Name: James State: FloridaWhile the others made an assumption that a userform is involved...I don't know that. Is a userform involved?

WHERE is "Name: James State: Florida"?????

Are the chunks ( James, Florida) in a table? Perhaps different cells? If they were, this would be MUCH easier.

WHAT, exactly, are you using in your .Find? "James"?

BTW: you probably do NOT have to use Selection.Find. In fact, due to the way the object model handles a Range.Find, you would most likely be much better using Range.
Sub testJames()
Dim r As Range
Dim var1 As String
Dim var2 As String
Dim count As Long
Set r = ActiveDocument.Range
With r.Find