PDA

View Full Version : Finding correct blank cell

quattda
08-30-2007, 06:05 PM
I am new to VBA and am trying to learn its features for use in a project I am creating. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I have a worksheet that contains dates in the A column and text categories in Row 1. I would like to create an VBA module that runs at startup that finds the cell that is found at the intersection of the day's date (in column A) and the first blank cell in Row 1. Can someone help me get started?

tpoynton
08-30-2007, 06:20 PM
probably a better way to do it, but this should work

Dim cell As Range
For Each cell In Range(Cells(1, 1), Cells(65536, 1).End(xlUp))
If cell.Value = Date And cell.Offset(0, 1).Value = "" Then
cell.Offset(0, 1).Select
Exit Sub
End If
Next cell

hope this isnt a homework project...verify that it is not HW and someone will tell you where to put it :)

if you had more than 1 post, i wouldnt ask...

quattda
08-30-2007, 06:44 PM
Thanks.
Actually, I am a teacher creating a project timesheet for my students to use in my drafting class.

tpoynton
08-30-2007, 06:54 PM
aha - put this in ThisWorkbook

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
Dim cell As Range
For Each cell In Range(Cells(1, 1), Cells(65536, 1).End(xlUp))
If cell.Value = Date And cell.Offset(0, 1).Value = "" Then
cell.Offset(0, 1).Select
Exit Sub
End If
Next cell
End Sub

There is probably a slicker way to do this, but this should work...as long as the dates are sorted ascending, and the data are filled in from the top down.

quattda
08-30-2007, 07:09 PM
I ran this in a test file but it does not quite do what I need. It found the correct date in Column A (in row 17) but I need it to find the first blank column (column J) in Row 1 and then move to the correct cell (e.g., J17). Obviously, the final cell would change as the day changes and more info is added to the columns in Row 1.

tpoynton
08-31-2007, 05:10 AM