PDA

View Full Version : Solved: any way to delete & refresh contents in a dropdownbox?

lvito001
09-05-2007, 07:42 AM
Hello all! I'm a newbie to the forum & to VBA, so I apologize in advance for any inarticulate phrasing I may use.

I've got a problem that I've been like this: :banghead: for the past week. Here's my scenario...

I have a userform with 2 drop down boxes. (namely, objectbox & subjecttypebox). objectbox contains a list: hospital, dmat, ambulance, dispatcher. everytime a user selects one option from the list... i would like the subjecttypebox to have a selection of particular options (such as, for hospital: bon secours hospital, sentara hospital... etc. | such as, for dmat: norfolk southern, ngc,... etc. | and so on).

my data comes from a spreadsheet and column B has the list of objects that i am linking to the objectbox. i would like column D to link to the subjecttypebox, but! I need to parse the information so that only specific hospitals show in the subjectypebox when the user selects hospital or specific dmats if dmat is selected... and so on. there are about 3400 rows of data and the column lengths are not equal.

if anyone can help me, i'd bow down to you such as this smiley is doing: :bow: . because I have been struggling over this for the past few days now, and frankly... I'm over it!

Thanks very much,
Lena

rory
09-05-2007, 07:54 AM
It might be easier if you posted a sample workbook (use the Go Advanced button and the Manage Attachments option) , but generally speaking, you can use the change event of the first combo to clear the second combo, apply an autofilter to the sheet, iterate through the visible cells in column D and use AddItem to add them to the combo, or put them in an array and assing that to the List property.

lvito001
09-05-2007, 08:16 AM