PDA

View Full Version : Solved: User form combo

Tilly1998
09-10-2007, 06:01 AM
Hi everybody this is my first post.

My boss has asked me to change our company letterheading. At the moment it is a basic word template showing company name etc but he wants it changed to show each manager and their respective telephone number so i was wondering how to go about it really i was thinking about a user form that opens when you do Document New and you select the name from a drop down box which fills a text box with the phone number? Im new to programming, apart from macros so forgive me if this is a really easy question!

any help would be greatly appreciated
regards

lucas
09-10-2007, 07:18 AM
Hi Tilly,
I would use bookmarks. See attached for an example and post back here with any questions you might have. This example does more than a combobox but I think it is well enough commented to make it clear how it works.

Tilly1998
09-10-2007, 08:00 AM
Thank you for your quick reply. please dont curse me but im not sure exactly how to use it (sorry). to use your example, do i fill out the managers names and their corresponding direct dial telephone number on the table and when I select the name from the user form it will give the correct telephone number??

Again, im really sorry to sound so dim but i really like to understand something rather than just copy it blindly

Do you want me to send in a copy of the letterheading??

all the best

lucas
09-10-2007, 09:14 AM
No this is a simple example of how to get data from the userform into the document. Go to insert bookmark on the main menu to see where the bookmarks are located in the document.