PDA

View Full Version : Why can't i select things on non-active sheet?

chamster
09-13-2007, 11:09 PM
I can'r run the code below.

With Worksheets("Settings")
.Cells(1, 2).Select
End With

The solution i've been applying this far was to activate the sheet as follows.

Dim tempSheet as Worksheet
Set tempSheet as ActiveSheet
With Worksheets("Settings")
.Activate
.Cells(1, 2).Select
End With
tempSheet.Activate

However, that seems as an unneccessary complex approach. Hence, two questions arise.

1. How can i select a cell/range on a non-active sheet without activating it? Can it be done at all?

2. Why is the first piece of code not working? If it can't be done - why not?

For all it can help, when i try .Paste i experience the same kind of problematics. I'm guessing the thing i wish to do is easily achievable but that i picked a method that isn't the approach concieved for that purpose. Keep in mind that even if i've been a programmer for quite few years, the VBA is still very new to me.

johnske
09-13-2007, 11:30 PM
...Hence, two questions arise.

1. How can i select a cell/range on a non-active sheet without activating it? Can it be done at all?No

2. Why is the first piece of code not working? If it can't be done - why not?The real question is - why do you want to? If you're selecting the range so the user can enter something in it then why isn't the sheet 'active', if you're not selecting the range so the user can enter something in it there's no need to use select on it :)

chamster
09-13-2007, 11:50 PM
The real question is - why do you want to? ...if you're not selecting the range so the user can enter something in it there's no need to use select on it :)

I'm not trying to get the user to enter anything. Hence, we're arriving at what i expected - i'm using a screwdriver to hammer a spike. "Why?", somebody will ask. "Because i only got a screwdriver this far", i'll respond. :dunno