PDA

View Full Version : Macros lost when new document created from word template

jai2
09-18-2007, 12:39 PM
Hello,

I'm totally new at creating macros and using VBA. I was forced to create macro because my hyperlinks were not working in a dcoument that was proteced for forms.

I used the following guide lines by MS: support.microsoft.com/kb/913761

I created the macro in the current working document. Everything worked as per the MS-KB, but when I rename the document to .DOT to use it as a template, the new document loses the macro. Link fails to work.

What I need to do is create a macro in such way so that if I create new document from the template, it retains the macro.

Please and thanks,

Jai

TonyJollans
09-18-2007, 02:40 PM
If you base a document on a template, the macros remain in the template. When you open the document the template is automatically opened as well and the macros are thus availabale. Now, if you move the template, or open a copy of the document on another machine that does not have the template, or if the template cannot be found for any other reason, then, of course, it cannot be opened.

You would need to give some more details before anyone could identify what might be causing the problem in your situation.

fumei
09-19-2007, 08:06 AM
Yes, we need more details.

Ooooooooo, an opportunity to disagree with Tony!
When you open the document the template is automatically opened as wellTechnically, when a document is created from a template, when that document is opened, the template is NOT opened. That is, if "opened" means the template file is actually opened.

Wait a sec.......

Darn. I suppose Tony is correct, in that the template file is read which does mean "opened" technically. It is not opened as a document, but it is read. Try clicking the template which does show in the VBE Project Explorer. "Project is unviewable." It can only be viewed if the template file is actually "open".