PDA

View Full Version : Help: VBA(word) - Get the name/ID of the field selected on the document

sk_uc04
09-20-2007, 09:47 AM
Hello Everybody,

I am new to VBA (word).
I have a word document/form with multiple fields. I am trying to get the name/ID of the field selected (or where the cursor is). The field can be a text box or a radio button.
I would really appreciate any kind of help. Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,
SK

TonyJollans
09-20-2007, 12:27 PM
Radio Buttons are ActiveX controls (from the Control Toolbox) so you don't have a straightforward Word Form (which uses controls from the Forms Toolbar). So, one thing at a time ...

FormField Text Boxes can have code run on Entry and, if they have a bookmark you can pick up its name from Selection.Bookmarks(1).

ActiveX controls have various events where you can easily pick up their name.

Where / when do you want to find the name(s)?

sk_uc04
09-20-2007, 01:01 PM
Thanks TonyJollans for the reply. I am not sure what you mean by when I want to find the name.
On my word document, I have bound a key to each textbox on the form. When a user clicks on the textbox to enter text, based on the name of the textbox selected, a tooltip/help window comes (when user hit those keys for eg. Alt+F2).
I am not sure if I am clear enough... :(

TonyJollans
09-20-2007, 02:06 PM
What type of Textboxes are they? And how are you setting up the key? Or am I just being stupid tonight?

fumei
09-20-2007, 07:23 PM
Yes please. Especially when mentioning "textboxes" you must always tell us EXACTLY what kind of textbox, and where you are using them.

People mention "textbox", but do not mention they are on a userform.

People mention "textbox", but do not mention they are in the document.

People mention "textbox", but do not mention they are formfield textboxes, in the document.

People mention "textbox", but do not mention they are ActiveX textboxes, in the document.