PDA

View Full Version : MS Access SQL Query in VBA

h2o4001
09-29-2007, 10:23 PM
Hi!

I have never programmed anything in VBA before, so I don't have a clue what I'm doing... Anyway, here is what I'm trying to do. I need to find records in a table based on a date that is entered into a form and also the type (which is a dropdown box w/ the possible choices) which is on the same form. In other words, there are two variables which need to be passed from the form to the VBA code and then used in the SQL Query that is programmed in the VBA code. I want this to run when the user cliks on a button.

Here is what I'm trying to work with... There is more, but I figured that if I can get this small part to work then I will have a greater chance figuring out the other parts... Thanks for any help!

Private Sub Run_Carryover_Click()

Dim TotalReceiptsSQL As String

TempVars.Add "DateVar", "[Forms]![Weekly Carryover]![EndDate]"
TempVars.Add "TypeVar", "[Forms]![Weekly Carryover]![ConcernType]"

TotalReceiptsSQL = "SELECT MAX(Receipts.[Date Received]) AS [Date], MAX(Receipts.[Reporting Type]) AS Type, Sum(Receipts.[Total Receipts]) AS [Sum Of Total Receipts] FROM Receipts WHERE (((Receipts.[Date Received]) Between #"

TotalReceiptsSQL = TotalReceiptsSQL & DateVar

TotalReceiptsSQL = TotalReceiptsSQL & "#) AND ((Receipts.[Reporting Type])= '"

TotalReceiptsSQL = TotalReceiptsSQL & TypeVar

TotalReceiptsSQL = TotalReceiptsSQL & "'));"

DoCmd.RunSQL TotalReceiptsSQL

End Sub

When I clike the button to run the code, I get the following error message "A RunSQL action requires an argument consisting of an SQL statement."

OBP
09-30-2007, 06:13 AM
Can I ask why it has to be a VBA SQL code rather than a simple Access Query?

h2o4001
09-30-2007, 08:20 PM
I guess it doesn't have to be, but I wanted to try it that way...

Here is what I'm doing...

I have three tables. Concerns, Receipts, Carryover