PDA

View Full Version : array

utreg-4ever
10-03-2007, 05:27 AM
hi all :hi: , here is my problem.
imagine a big excel file with thousands of rows and 5 columns.
First of all, I need only the rows with data when the cell in the first column (A) matches a criterium. (currently i use Autofilter and copypaste the selection into a new sheet)
Secondly, i need to do a calculation for each row using the value in columns B C and D. (currently i put the result in column F)

Then, I need to have the product of the values in the column D and E and sum the result, and divide it by the sum of all values in column E. (currently i use the SUMPRODUCT-functionality). The result of this calculation i need for further purposes.

As i need to do this for several files each day, i already started building a macro, but i am not experienced (e.g. using the recorder). Yet, as the excelfile involves tenthousands of rows, and some other steps that need to be added to the process i described, i feel that i need a smooth VBA-module using arrays to speed it up.

Who could give me advice ? Many thanks in advance for your effort!

Oorang
10-03-2007, 06:46 AM
Hi utreg,
Welcome to the board! :) You gave an excellent description of the process, but I am unclear on something, where is the output going?

Norie
10-03-2007, 07:33 AM
This probably could be done with arrays, and that might be quicker.

But I don't see why you couldn't do it other ways.

You can easily use VBA to filter/copy data and insert formulas.

utreg-4ever
10-03-2007, 11:31 AM
First of all, thanks to both of you for your interest.

Good points. Well, actually my request is just an isolated part of several manual tasks i'd like to avoid for the future.