PDA

View Full Version : Solved: VBA formatting

bdavids3
10-10-2007, 01:47 PM
I wrote the following code to format my worksheet based on certain conditions. I'm new to VB, so I'm not even sure if this is the correct approach. What I'm trying to do is color certain rows from column A through J based primarily on the contents of column C. There is only 1 exception to this, which also checks to see if column D starts with a certain string.

Right now I get a run-time error '13' on the last if statement (10 lines from the bottom under Case "Task".

I also noticed that if I paste a large amount of data (~1000 rows) it takes forever to update and actually usually freezes Excel to the point where I have to force-quit the application. I know my data set will always be less than 1000 rows, but I can't be sure whether it's 800 one time and 900 the next. The actual data set I want to format is A3:Jyyy where yyy is no larger than 1000.

Here is my code so far:

Option Compare Text
Option Explicit
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Dim Cell As Range
Dim Rng1 As Range

On Error Resume Next
Set Rng1 = ActiveSheet.Cells.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeFormulas, 1)
On Error GoTo 0
If Rng1 Is Nothing Then
Set Rng1 = Range(Target.Address)
Else
Set Rng1 = Union(Range(Target.Address), Rng1)
End If
For Each Cell In Rng1
Select Case Cell.Value
Case "Phase"
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 53 'tomato red
Cell.Font.Bold = True
Cell.Font.ColorIndex = 2
Case "Thread"
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 1 'black
Cell.Font.Bold = True
Cell.Font.ColorIndex = 2
Case "Activity"
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 15 'light grey
Cell.Font.Bold = True
Case "Task"
If Cells(Cell, 4) = Left("Approve", 7) Then
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 40 'light orange
Cell.Font.Italic = True
End If
Case Else
'do nothing to leave whatever formatting is already in place
End Select
Next
End Sub

Thanks,

Brian

Oorang
10-10-2007, 08:38 PM
:welcome:
Hi Brian,