PDA

View Full Version : Using tables in Word with VBA - SUM function?

Mediocre Egg
10-11-2007, 10:29 AM
I'm desiging a credit card receipt userform for our customer service representatives to use.

Part of the template for the form is a table. The table contains 6 rows, and 4 columns. This is a standard receipt table with Quantity, Cost, Description, and so on. The bottom-right cell contains the Total for the purchase.

Rather than having the reps manually enter the total amount upon entering the individual costs, is there a way in VBA to have the Total field auto-populate with the sum of the sub-totals?

I would also like to repeat this number for another field, which re-states how much has been charged to the credit card.

If someone could shed some light on this, it would be much appreciated. I am still new at VBA :)

Edit: Also, I am giving the reps the option to include up to four purchased items in this table. Is there a more elegant way of handling this rather than create my userform with each of the 4 Text boxes and Comboboxes repeated 4 times? In other words, would there be a way to have the 4 fields (Quantity, Term, Cost, Publication) and an "Add" button, which would throw it in the table. Once the "Add" button is clicked, the 4 fields would blank out and be ready for the next item. The "Add" button would be in addition to the standard "Submit", "Clear", and "Cancel" buttons.

lucas
10-11-2007, 11:53 AM
I would suggest you use the appropriate application...Excel.
it can be done by inserting an excel object into the word doc and I think some limited amout of formula used in tables is applicable also.

I would use excel for all of this.

Mediocre Egg
10-11-2007, 12:59 PM
I was hoping to do it in Word because I've finally got a slight foothold on this and I wanted more practice :(

I'm not sure how I would go about even starting this in Excel. I like the Word method because of the ability to use Bookmarks.

lucas
10-11-2007, 01:17 PM