PDA

View Full Version : Help with active windows and filesearch doesn't do wildcards(?!)

Erikwe
10-17-2007, 01:08 AM
Hi.

I'm pretty new to vba and not a programmer and could use some help with a macro I am writing. In trying to follow the guidlines on how to get help i give you this:

I want my macro to do a file search and in the found files (ending with a number and ".htm") it shall extract the information I need, paste into a new document and save. I have adapted snippets of code for different methods from the web and a few recorded macros to get this done and predictably it doesn't work. That's normally ok, I usually get it sorted, only this time I don't. I use Word 2003.

The problems I am not able to solve are two:

1). When using Application.filesearch I try searching for .filename = "*[0-9].htm". It doesn't find any files doing this and it seems the only wildcard it accepts is the '*'. If that's the case then I can probably work around this (in some extremely roundabout way) if I just get the rest to work.

2). When the macro opens a found document it is supposed to search for the phrase "Fixation indices". Only this part doesn't do anything at all. I may be wrong about this but I suspect it's because I don't have the document active. I'm not able to activate the correct window 'cause I can't get the name of it from .FoundFiles.

Edit: Have solved no 2 with some help.
If someone would take a look at "my" macro I would be very grateful.

Ok... it is with great hesitation that I now present you with the code (don't laugh):

Sub locusbylocusextract()
'
' locusbylocusextract Makro
' Makro erstellt am 15.10.2007 von myself
' Including a general macro to do things with lots of files
Set fs = Application.FileSearch
Dim newbook, curbook, MyCount, myrange
Location = BrowseForFolder
Generic = InputBox("Please enter a name of the results file", "Enter file name")
With Documents.Add
.SaveAs FileName:=(Location & "\" & Generic & ".doc")
.Close
End With
With fs