PDA

View Full Version : Delete the Word file upon exiting it.

mikeburg
10-21-2007, 02:40 PM
I need to delete the file when exiting it. However, when I put the following VBA in auto_Close, I get Run-Time Error 70 Permission denied:

Sub AutoClose()
ThisDocument.Saved = True 'To skip save question
Kill ("MikeFaxDoc.doc")
End Sub

Please, someone help come up with the VBA that deletes the file when exiting it, I am new to VBA for Word.

Thanks a million. mikeburg

lucas
10-21-2007, 03:18 PM
Now why would you want to do that Mike?

fumei
10-21-2007, 08:01 PM
I am kind of curious myself. I am not even sure it can be done. It has to be still alive to carry out instructions.

In fact, I am pretty sure it can NOT be done, as it does not make sense that it could.

AutoClose - or the newer Document_Close - or ANY procedure must finish and terminate with the End Sub. How can it finish, if you delete the container that is actually running it? It can't...so...it denies you permission to carry out that instruction. VBA is not suicidal.

Why not delete it with code from normal.dot? Or another file code module? What exactly is going on here?

mikeburg
10-22-2007, 05:39 PM
We have a word document on the network that in auto_open I have the user's unique copy created from it as follows:

ActiveDocument.SaveAs FileName:=Environ("UserName") & "FaxDoc.doc", FileFormat:=wdFormatDocument

Then when the user prints the file, I want their file deleted automically upon exiting.

I was hoping for a simple VBA approach. Can you help?

Thanks a bunch. mikeburg

lucas
10-22-2007, 05:47 PM
Hi Mike,
How about capturing the print event and then just close the file (using code just after printing) without saving changes...I'm just offering suggestions. This alternative would be instead of saving the file as a different filename.

TonyJollans
10-22-2007, 11:36 PM