PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Number help!!!

Lutoniall
11-02-2007, 12:11 PM
I am a complete beginner in VBA so could you help with this.

I have a seven segment LCD display which are really lines to make it look like it. What I need is to make the numbers go to 199.9, so my display looks like XXX.X. I have done the code so far 1-9:

Private Sub Change_Number_Click()
Line1.Visible = False
Line2.Visible = False
Line3.Visible = False
Line4.Visible = False
Line5.Visible = False
Line6.Visible = False
Line7.Visible = Fasle
Line8.Visible = False
Line9.Visible = False
Line10.Visible = False
Line11.Visible = False
Line12.Visible = False
Line13.Visible = False
Line14.Visible = Fasle

Number = InputBox("Enter the number to display")

Select Case Number

Case 0
Line1.Visible = True
Line2.Visible = True
Line3.Visible = True
Line4.Visible = True
Line5.Visible = True
Line6.Visible = True
Line7.Visible = False

Case 1
Line1.Visible = False
Line2.Visible = False
Line3.Visible = True
Line4.Visible = True
Line5.Visible = False
Line6.Visible = False
Line7.Visible = False

Case 2
Line1.Visible = False
Line2.Visible = True
Line3.Visible = True
Line4.Visible = False
Line5.Visible = True
Line6.Visible = True
Line7.Visible = True

Case 3
Line1.Visible = False
Line2.Visible = True
Line3.Visible = True
Line4.Visible = True
Line5.Visible = True
Line6.Visible = False
Line7.Visible = True

Etc.. on to case 9 (This is not in the code:) )
End Select
End Sub

So how do I make it go to 199.9 without writing out case 1 to 199.9 as this would take a long time. Many Thanks!!!

TonyJollans
11-04-2007, 04:29 PM
It's hard to see what this has to do with Access but let's assume it's on an Access Form.

There's no way to avoid hard coding the cross reference from numbers to lines somewhere as Access doesn't know them for itself, but you can make it easier by doing something like this:

Dim Digits(0 To 9)
Digits(0) = Array(1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0)
Digits(1) = Array(0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0)