PDA

View Full Version : multicolumn combobox range

dickep
11-02-2007, 09:06 PM
I have a spreadsheet that has some data that I need in a combobox. Now, the problem is that it is multicolumn data with the first column the "Tag" data I need but the other column, which may or may not be contiguous, has the data I need displayed in the combobox. This is being done dynamically.

:banghead: I am new to VBA and really don't understand comboboxes at all so any info would be helpful.

I would like to understand if the above is even possible:dunno . Then I need to know if I can relate the displayed/selected item in the combobox to the "tag" for processing later.
: pray2:
Thanks
E

Bob Phillips
11-03-2007, 01:09 AM
This isn't clear, but I am reading it that you want to get data from different places and load it in a combo row

ary = [{"Bob","M", 123;"Lynne","F",898;"Amy","F",543}]

With ListBox1
.AddItem "tag name"
.List(.ListCount - 1, 1) = "some value"
.List(.ListCount - 1, 1) = "some other value"
End With

dickep
11-03-2007, 09:43 AM
Thanks for this but not sure if it will work.

Here is what I guess you might like for a better explanation

The data to go into the combobox is in AA9 to AJ18. AA9:AA18 is the "Tag" data (I did this statically using option buttons but don't like that approach). Now the data I want to be displayed for selection in the box is contained in column AJ9:AJ18

Also, this data is name POS1 (AA9:AJ18).

Last, :bug: I am confused about listbox and combobox. Do you treat them the same? Is there a website that explains the "With...." data that CAN be used/assigned for them?

Thanks again:yes
E

Norie
11-03-2007, 09:53 AM
Can't you just set the RowSource to AJ9:AJ18?

Or is there more to it?

dickep
11-03-2007, 12:59 PM
Yes, I can set the rowsource to that, however, then the first column shows and I want other than that (usually the last).

So, still trying to understand these.:dunno

Thanks again
E

Bob Phillips
11-03-2007, 07:02 PM