PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Queried Form entry overwrites 1st Table entry

thomaspatton
11-05-2007, 12:17 PM
AMO Database (http://h1.ripway.com/thomaspatton/AMODatabase.zip) <-- Download Link since it's too big to affix.

Having a problem with something and I can't figure out how to fix it. And before ya'll professional coders start ripping on my limited VBA skills, I know... everything COULD be more efficient and cleaner. I've been doing ALOT of reading on my own and I'm still learning damnit :nya:

Anyway, when I open INPUTfrmStudEdit it brings up data from tblClass.FYClass. - working as intended

I hit Submit, it pulls up frmStudEdit with the correct Students... the FIRST time only - NOT working as intended.

For some reason, even with the Form property set to query tblStudent for ONLY entries that match the FYClass entry from INPUTfrmStudEdit, it edits the very first entry in tblStudent.FYClass. I can't get it to stop doing this! It does the same thing between INPUTfrmStudAdd and frmStudAdd as well. Click back and forth between them a couple times and you'll see my "A" through "C" entries get updated unwillingly.

How do I get it to still pull the FYClass entry from INPUTfrm*** and pull up the frm*** with the correct entries WITHOUT it changing that first tblStudent entry?!?

And I reiterate, please don't just rewrite my code and tell me to insert it. That fixes my eating problem, but I still don't know how to fish afterwards...

OBP
11-06-2007, 02:46 AM
Thomas, I have got your version of the forms working, but I have also created a more common version where the Class Selection Form is a Mainform and the Student Form is a sub form on it.
Your original forms have the suffix 1 after their names.
I have also reduced it's size by Compacting & Repairing it.

thomaspatton
11-06-2007, 05:41 AM