PDA

View Full Version : Solved: cumstom style guide

kon
11-12-2007, 02:51 PM
Hey Guys,
I've created a custom style guide with the name "Tag". I marked some parts of my document with this tag(a entire paragraph, a word or just a character). My purpose is to find all text parts, that are marked with my tag. I found a code snippet on the web , but it lists only paragraphs, that are marked with the tag. So, if I mark just a word or a character, they won't be listed.

Sub FindStyle()

Dim sty As Style
Set sty = ActiveDocument.Styles("Tag")

Dim rng As Range
Set rng = ActiveDocument.Content

Dim txt As String

With rng.Find
.Text = ""
.Style = sty
.Execute
Do While .Found = True
MsgBox rng.Text
.Execute
Loop
End With

MsgBox txt

End Sub

Is there an other approach to find words or even characters that are marked with the style guide? I've spent already several hours with looking for a solution - I'm desperate :( I'm new to VBA :) I appreciate any help.

Thanks a lot!

Konstantin

OTWarrior
11-13-2007, 03:14 AM
i think you need to change
Set rng = ActiveDocument.Content

to

Set rng = ActiveDocument.Range(Start:=0, End:=50)

the end being what the end of your document is (best to do it dynamically to get the true value).

BTW: welcome to the forum

TonyJollans
11-13-2007, 04:29 AM
What type of style is "tag"? It sounds like you have a paragraph style when you want a character style.

kon
11-13-2007, 01:03 PM
Thanks Guys for your replies. I've tried your suggestion and changed my code to:

Set rng = ActiveDocument.Range(Start:=0, End:=3200)

I just put the 3200 for test purposes - I don't how to get dynamically the end of the document :) But it doesn't change my problem. Here an example:

This is my topic .....

- this is line 1
- this is line 2
- this is line 3

The tag that I've created is inheriting from default - so it's a new tag like TOPIC1, that you can use to give your topics a certain appearance. I hope you understand what kind of tag I mean.