PDA

View Full Version : Solved: newbie wanting to know how to selct a variable range in VBA

divingdingo
11-14-2007, 02:49 AM
i'm extremely new to this VBA programming. in fact so new i'm only just working myself through my first book. "VBA for dummies"!!

anyway i have a few specific reasons why i want to be able to adapt excel to start automating many of the repetative functions i continuously do on data.

i want to add a column to every spread sheet (with my data on) copy another column then format it all the same.

i can actually do this with what i have learnt so far. my problem is this:

every workbook that comes to me has a different number of rows. therefore when i write the code i need to select a different number of rows as the range to format each time. could someone please point me in the right direction to just select a range that extends to just the number of rows with data in.

does this make any sense to anyone ?!

thank you for you help in advance

mark

uksrogers
11-14-2007, 04:02 AM
I would look at the ActiveSheet.UsedRange function.

Alternatively there is something called SpecialCells that will give you the last cell on the sheet.

You should be able to find the syntax information in the VBA Help.

uksrogers

RECrerar
11-14-2007, 04:06 AM
Couple of ways, if there are no gaps in the data you could use

Range(Cells(1, 1), Cells(1, 1).End(xlDown)).Select

Assuming that assuming that the data starts in cell A1 (change the cell and column references as required).

Also CountA is quite useful.

Just a word of advice, you have posted this on VBA Excel help forum (http://www.excelforum.com/showthread.php?t=622851). People don't like cross posting as it means they can spend time working on problems that have already been solved. It is in the rules and you are likely to get your threads closed if you do cross post.

Regards

divingdingo
11-14-2007, 04:46 AM
Couple of ways, if there are no gaps in the data you could use