PDA

View Full Version : Progress Bar - extend run time

funkymaggot
11-16-2007, 03:02 AM
Hi All,

My first time here and a total newbie to Macros/VBA and the like. Although I have been dabbling for a few weeks and have come on leaps and bounds. I am looking for some help regarding a progress bar I have added to a file at work. My apologies if this is long-winded.

I have 1 excel file which is a direct download from SAP and another excel file which takes the information contained in the download and turns it into meaningful data.

When I run the macro the following happens:

1) Unwanted data (columns) from the download are removed and a filter is added to one of them.
2) The data is filtered by a set of criteria then copied and pasted onto a worksheet in the breakdown. There are 3 bits of criteria each pasted onto 3 different sheets.
3) The data pasted onto the 3 sheets then does a lookup to another file to autofill supplier information.

All together the process moves anywhere from 100 to 2000 rows of data (depending on when in the month the download is done) and does a lookup of the same amount.

I added a progress bar using the standard MS bars and the code suggested by johnske successfully. However, the bar only runs while the macro is sorting and moving the data, then freezes on the screen while the lookup is happening.

Here's the crunch question - how, if possible at all, do I get the progress bar to run throughout the lookup process as well??

I hope someone can help,

Kind regards,

Mick.

Simon Lloyd
11-16-2007, 09:56 AM
I'm not sure as i don't have the expertise to really point you in the right direction but a couple of things may help, With Application
.Calculation = xlManual
.MaxChange = 0.001
End With
Application.EnableEvents=Falseat the start of your code and With Application
.Calculation = xlAutomatic
.MaxChange = 0.001
End With
Application.EnableEvents=Trueat the end

funkymaggot
11-16-2007, 10:44 AM
Thanks for the response Simon,