PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Early Binding ADODB from Excel

Dr.K
11-19-2007, 12:13 PM
I build Excel apps that I distribute across a very large company.
Becuase I can't be sure of the end-user's OS or version of Office, I almost always use Late Binding, so that I don't have to set a reference in the project for a specific version of a library.

This means that I've gotten very good at Late Binding, but I have little experience with Early Binding.

My latest code uses ADODB to query an Access DB. ADODB Late Binds quite nicely, but when I remove the reference, I lose the constants, such as adOpenStatic. I see that I have two options: switch to Early Binding and add a reference to the project, or keep Late Binding, and use literal integers instead of constants.

What happens if a project contains a reference to a NEWER version of ADODB? Does it run the older version or just error out?
This might be a silly question, but for obvious reasons I am unable to test this on my own machine.

Advice please.

Bob Phillips
11-19-2007, 12:21 PM
or just add

#Const EarlyBound = False 'if using early binding

#If Not EarlyBound Then
Const adOpenForwardOnly As Long = 0
Const adLockReadOnly As Long = 1
Const adCmdText As Long = 1
Const adInteger As Long = 3
Const adVarChar As Long = 200
Const adLongVarChar As Long = 203
Const adVarWChar As Long = 202
Const adLongVarWChar As Long = 203
'etc.
#End If

Dr.K
11-19-2007, 12:28 PM
XLD- thanks for the response.

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm not sure I understand that code.
Where would I put it? Currently, all of the ADO routines are in a private module... put it in the Declarations section of that module? If so, why not just set private constants to contain that stuff, why make it dependent on "#Const EarlyBound = False"?

Where does that 'EarlyBound' constant come from? With the hundreds of references you could set, how does it know that you are referring to the binding of a specific library?

Bob Phillips
11-19-2007, 03:54 PM