PDA

View Full Version : principle component analysis for excel

divingdingo
11-29-2007, 03:33 AM
does anyone know anything about PCA and any add-ins for excel (preferably free ones! i am a student after all!)

anyway, i'm trying to analyse the correlation between wind speed and wind direction over time at two different locations, and i think i need to use this analysis. i've tried google but i see so many equations out there and as my maths is very rusty at best i was wondering if anyone knew any good sources for what i'm trying to do.

regards

mark

Sowanso
11-29-2007, 04:56 AM
Hi Mark,

Have you tried Analysis ToolPak, which comes as an add-in with every installation of MS Excel and only needs to be activated via Tools/Add-Ins menu? It should help you at least with some basic calculations of your analysis..

Best regards,
Ondrej

tpoynton
11-29-2007, 06:48 AM
Excel is a swiss army knife of sorts, but I'd recommend going into your university computer lab and using SPSS.

divingdingo
11-29-2007, 07:26 AM
Excel is a swiss army knife of sorts, but I'd recommend going into your university computer lab and using SPSS.

damn it i was hoping someone wasn't going to say that. it's just all my other analysis techniques are on excel and i've written loads of macros to automate them. i was hoping that i could avoid using different software if possible.

i know spss is probably better for the PCA but for the other stuff i do, excel works for me.

regs
mark

unmarkedhelicopter
11-29-2007, 07:32 AM
What are you a student of ?

divingdingo
11-29-2007, 07:33 AM
MSC of applied marine science. plymouth uni. was doing a project on offshore windfarms.

unmarkedhelicopter
11-29-2007, 11:54 AM
And your maths is rusty ??? is that from the brine ?

tpoynton
11-29-2007, 12:21 PM
there are addins you can buy, so it can be done! I think I looked for some stuff once and found some spreadsheets

google "principal components analysis filetype:xls" and hopefully that can get you started