PDA

View Full Version : benefits of C#

OTWarrior
12-12-2007, 02:02 AM
I have been told by one of my colleagues at work that it would be a good idea for me to learn C#, but I don't know much about it. I am reading up on the basics (I will need to go on a course to learn it I think), but my question is..

..What does C# do that VBA doesn't?

from what I have read so far, it looks like you have to be very specific regarding memory locations, but aside from that I do not know the differences (I am still learning how to program). I know that C# is faster than VBA.

To put it simply, why should I learn the language?

Bob Phillips
12-12-2007, 06:39 AM
Good question, why indeed?

At some time (but I don't think for ten years yet), we will all have to switch to dot net. AT that point you will need C#, VB.Net or something else, VBA will NOT be taken into the dot net world.

But, IMO, getting a full understanding of Excel and the OM is more important. If you are more comfortable doing that in VBA then do so. Learn C# as a side of the table exrcise, using your Excel and OM skilll honed under VBA.

XLGibbs
12-12-2007, 03:49 PM
Depends on what your role is. I am able to us C# to develop customized front ends,while VBA translates more simply into the VB world (naturally)....C# is very beneficial in it's close relationship to dot-Net as xld said.

SQL Server 2005 for example also has more fully integrated integration service which can combine all kinds of really neat stuff, but C# is a big part of making it work best for you.

If you can get your hands on VS 2005, it would be worthwhile to learn.

For excel work, it is not necessary.

PaSha
12-21-2007, 02:49 AM
hmmm good question...

i'm studying electrical engineering and computer science in slovenia... and
till now i had 3 exams - or clases of c and c++ ...
from 6 of them about programing skills we have 3 c++, 2 java and 1 dot net...